What would you do if you knew you wouldn’t fail?


Recently I listened to an EntreLeadership podcast, (if you have never heard it check it out) and Seth Godin was being interviewed by Dave Ramsey. Seth said something to Dave that has inspired me to start writing on this blog again. Basically Seth said if you want to write, write and do it daily. It doesn’t have to be eloquent or perfect, but if you start writing every day, you’ll never have writers block for the more important things. I loved that and took it to heart. Here’s a link to the actual Seth Interview.

I have heard this question many times through out my life, the first time was back in high school, when a Guidance Counselor asked me this question to help me map out what I wanted to do in life. Since then I have asked this question when I personally/professionally feel like I have hit a speed bump.

The question for me has change throughout time.

What would you do if you knew that you would never fail?

It’s a question that’s meant to help you realize what you value most in life, for me it’s always lead me to a path of unrealistic expectations, but are they really unrealistic?

What could you do if you knew that you would never fail?

TBH, if I knew I wouldn’t fail, would I do anything in life differently? This of course leads to existential questions about life, which isn’t meant for this blog post at all.

What would you do if you knew that you would never fail?

When thinking about the future, I’m always filled with optimism, I believe in an optimistic future. With that as the mindsight, knowing I would never fail, I would work on something interesting. I have always found VC firms to be interesting. The idea of giving someone money and opportunity to develop and promote their idea into something larger, and sharing their passion with the world is inspiring. Maybe I can do that today, at least starting with Kiva, I can fulfill this “dream” of helping without needing VC dollars.

https://www.kiva.org/

Either way, if you have taken the time to read this add your comments below and answer the two simple questions:

What would you do if you knew you would never fail?

What could you do if you knew you would never fail?

Until next time, when more random words string together into a coherent thought.

 

 

Leave a Reply

