A CYA Moment with broken Windows VMs


Ran into an issue today with today where one of my storage arrays lost connection to the hosts because of a scheduled power outage (long story) but, I ran into an interesting issue.

A few of the virtual machines Windows and Linux were showing the MKS:file missing from the console prompt. What was interesting about this was the storage was reconnected and other Windows VMs were fine, the Linux ones were hosed, root file system went RO, no way to remount, etc. Those were restored from snapshots, but I didn’t want to just give up on the Windows machines so when attempting to reboot them I received “Operation Failed since another task is in progress.”

OK I have seen this before, I have to log into the console grep the VMX world ID and kill it, or I run ESXTOP and kill the VM. With the advent of ESXi 5 and the new esxcli commands I was wondering if there was another way to do it.

Well come to find out there is. There is an entire KB article about how the many ways of forcing a VM down. The way I shutdown the VM was by running:

esxcli vm process list
and then
esxcli vm process kill –type=[soft,hard,force] –world-id=WorldNumber
I ran it with the hard command and didn’t need to force it

This is a KB article to add to your toolkit.

Leave a Reply

